• Follow us


Special Areas residents have many different scholarships available to help them finance their dreams.

University of Calgary - $1,400.00
Offered annually to a continuing undergraduate student in any faculty who has completed at least one year. Students must be descendants of a pioneer/homestead family in the Special Areas. If no suitable candidate, then open to students who graduated from any Alberta high school. Based on financial need and academic merit.

Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) - $2,500.00
Available to entering or returning SAIT students enrolled in a certificate or diploma program. Preference given to descendants of the original pioneers (early 1900's) who held title to land within the Special Areas (proof necessary). Second to students who have attended a high school in the Special Areas.

The donor of this bursary is also Ms. Leone J. Curry. The purpose is to honor the memory of her parents, Blanche & Alex Curry and the pioneering spirit of the homesteaders in the Special Areas.

Olds College - $1,000.00

Available to students entering any Olds College program. First preference to descendants of the original pioneers in the Special Areas (early 1900's). Second preference to residents in the Special Areas for at least 5 years. Award based on financial need.

The donor of the above bursary is also Ms. Leone J. Curry. The purpose is to honor the memory of her sister, Adele Blanche Curry Robb, who was a victim of breast cancer in 1967.

William Keyte Memorial Bursaries

University of Calgary - 4 bursaries up to $4,000.00 for University of Calgary students. Offered annually to students entering first year in any undergraduate faculty. To be eligible students must be from the Special Areas. Based on financial need and academic merit. The awards are renewable in the second, third and fourth years at the University of Calgary providing that the recipients maintain a minimum grade point average of 2.60 for each year of study as a full time student.

Further information can be obtained from the above post secondary institutions.

AAMDC Scholarship Program

Monsanto Canada Opportunity Scholarship

4-H Scholarships

Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE) Members in good standing of AUPE with two consecutive years service as of July 16 of current year are eligible, and/or their spouse, and/or their financial dependents, and/or dependents of retired or deceased members. All dependents must be under the age of 25 years. Consideration will be made for a past member who enrolls full-time in an educational institution within the first year of job elimination.

Prairie Land Scholarships

Prairie Land Regional Division No. 25 offers scholarships and bursaries to students entering any accredited Canadian post-secondary institution. Some awards are conditional upon recipients being admitted to and registered as a full-time student at a college or university.  Please click here for more details on these awards.  Application forms are available for the 2014-2015 school year with a deadline of July 31, 2015.

        School Specific Awards: 


Local Community Organization Scholarships