Meet the Team

Our Team

Special Areas is led by a senior management team, with the Chair functioning as a Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) for the municipality.

Chair SAB – Jordon Christianson

Jordon Christianson

Chair – Special Areas Board

The Chair of the Special Areas Board is the administrative head of Special Areas.


This role is appointed to the Special Areas Board by Order in Council along with the other three members elected from the Advisory Council. This role is a member of the Alberta Public Service, and reports to Alberta Municipal Affairs.


Through the delegation of authority, the Chair is responsible for:

  • effective municipal policies and programs
  • staffing to deliver programs and services
  • public land dispositions consistent with legislated requirements
  • providing local governance through Advisory Council and the Special Areas Board
Director of Finance-Darcy Ferguson

Darcy Ferguson

Director – Finance & Administration
Director Municipal Services – Owen Francis

Owen Francis

Director – Municipal Services
Director Property Admin – Trent Caskey

Trent Caskey

Director – Property Administration

The senior management team supports the delivery of ratepayer services, administration of public lands, and local municipal government.


  • Finance & Administration is responsible for managing all financial and administrative requirements, including budgeting, financial reporting, human resources, information systems, and the safety program.


  • Municipal Services is responsible for delivering municipal services to ratepayers in the region, including roads and equipment, water and waste management, parks and recreation, emergency services, facilities and aggregates management.


  • Property Administration is responsible for managing public lands located in the Special Areas, including agricultural and industrial dispositions, community pastures, rangeland management, reclamation, and the environmental review program.

Additional information is available on the contact page.