Intermunicipal Development Plans (IDPs) & Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks (ICFs)

The Government of Alberta has enabled municipalities with common boundaries to put in place intermunicipal development plans (IDPs), and requires intermunicipal collaboration frameworks (ICFs). The purpose of these plans is to collaboratively plan and support sustainable development and service delivery to residents of Alberta municipalities.

Intermunicipal Development Plans (IDPs)Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks (ICFs)

What is an IDP?

An Intermunicipal Development Plan (IDP) is a planning document created by neighbouring municipalities to foster cooperation and integrated development near the municipal boundaries. The policies within the IDP guide future growth and development by identifying general locations for major land uses and servicing. The document also creates a referral zone and a framework for dispute resolution. The Special Areas Board is developing an Intermunicipal Development Plan document collaboratively with each adjacent municipality. Once finalized, this document is then approved by the Council (via Ministerial Order for the Special Areas Board).

Planners will use the IDP document to make recommendations related to managing land-use in the defined area, and to address growth issues in a way which respects the interests of both municipalities.

The Municipal Government Act states municipalities are not required to adopt an Intermunicipal Development Plan with each other if they agree that they do not require one.

The Special Areas Board has mutually agreed to not adopt an Intermunicipal Development Plan with the:

  • Village of Empress
  • Village of Youngstown
  • Village of Cereal
  • Town of Oyen
  • Town of Hanna
  • Cypress County
  • Stettler County
  • Starland County

Intermunicipal Development Plans

Scheduled for First Reading

Special Areas held First Reading for draft Intermunicipal Development Plans on Tuesday, February 25, 2020.

Public Hearing

Special Areas held a public hearing for draft Intermunicipal Development Plans on Tuesday, March 10, 2020 at 11:00 am in Youngstown, Alberta.

Second Reading

Special Areas held Second Reading for draft Intermunicipal Development Plans on Tuesday, March 10, 2020.

All draft IDPs were recommended for Third Reading by the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

What is an ICF?

An intermunicipal collaboration framework (ICF) is a tool to facilitate cooperation between neighbouring municipalities to ensure municipal services are provided to residents efficiently and cost effectively.

Frameworks are intended to:

  • provide for integrated and strategic planning, delivery and funding of intermunicipal services
  • allocate scarce resources efficiently in the providing local services
  • ensure municipalities contribute funding to services that benefit their residents

Municipal councils adopt their framework via resolution. Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks focus on intermunicipal services, including:

  • transportation
  • water and wastewater
  • solid waste
  • emergency services
  • recreation, and
  • any other services that benefit residents in more than one of the municipalities that are parties to the framework

Frameworks describe the services to be provided under it that benefit residents in more than one of the municipalities, identify which municipality is responsible for providing which service, and identifies how the services will be delivered and funded.

The ICF must include provisions establishing a process for resolving disputes also include provisions for a binding dispute resolution process to resolve implementation disputes. The ICF may also contain details required to implement intermunicipal services and provisions for developing infrastructure for common benefit.

Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks

- Town of Drumheller
- Town of Hanna
- Town of Oyen
- Village of Consort
- Village of Cereal
- Village of Veteran
- Village of Empress
- Village of Youngstown
- County of Newell
- County of Paintearth No. 18
- County of Stettler No. 6
- M.D. of Acadia No. 34
- M.D. of Provost No. 52
- Cypress County
- Starland County
- Wheatland County