Key Contact Information


Sean Olmstead, Director of Operations (BCWMC)



Regional Landfill & Waste Transfer Stations

BCWMC has 28 solid-waste transfer stations that accept general household waste; eight accept various recyclable materials. Individual transfer station hours vary. Residents are encouraged to contact the Youngstown Regional Landfill if they have any questions.


The Youngstown Regional Landfill is a Class II landfill that operates from Monday to Friday from 9 am to 5 pm. General household waste, commercial waste, demolition materials, and recyclable materials are accepted.


Hazardous waste materials are not accepted.


Recycling materials are accepted at the Consort, Cessford, Empress, Hanna, Oyen, Veteran, Wardlow, and MD of Acadia waste transfer stations. Accepted materials vary from station to station, please contact the Youngstown Regional Landfill for more information.

Agricultural recycling materials are accepted at the Hanna Transfer Station and the Youngstown Regional Landfill. For more information on Ag Recycling, visit Cleanfarms (https://www.cleanfarms.ca).

Regional Waste Commission

BCWMC is comprised of 8 member municipalities, each with a representative on the BCWMC. BCWMC provides waste management services to the Special Areas region and was established under Part 15.1 of the Municipal Government Act.


Operations and capital expenditures are funded through annual requisitions to member municipalities.